Law Must Continue to be Upheld in the Year of Politics

Foto: Nasional Kompas

Coordinating Minister for Political, Legal and Security Affairs Wiranto appealed to the Corruption Eradication Commission (KPK) to postpone the handling of cases involving candidates for regional heads in the period of regional heads elections (Pilkada). This appeal was conveyed after a meeting with the General Election Commission (KPU), Election Supervisory Board (Bawaslu), and the Election Ethics Board on Tuesday (13/03/2018) in Jakarta.

Trends of Corruption Prosecution 2017

Election is one of the ways to make leadership circulation running well. Otherwise, the government would potentially entering authoritarian government which tends to be corrupt. Election needs to be conducted in a democratic country, both at the national level (presidential election) as well as at the local level (regional election).

Village Funds are Prone to Misuse


Law No. 6 of 2014 on the Village obliges the central government to allocate the Village Funds from the national budget for the improvement of public services, community empowerment and rural development.

A Specter is Haunting the Regional Elections – The Specter of Money Politics

One of the specters haunting the conduct of “Feasts of Democracy” i.e. the political elections of Indonesia, both national and regional, is the practice of money politics. The terminology refers to the practice of buying votes by election participants as well as by supporters, whether official or not, usually conducted before a vote is held. Due to money politics, voters lose their autonomy to elect candidates for public officials through rational considerations, such as track records, performance, programs or campaign promises, and choose candidates merely for pecuniary gains.

Guarding Regional Elections with Integrity

Foto: Pojok Jabar

Elections of Regional Heads and Voter Sovereignty

The simultaneous elections of regional heads (Pemilukada) will be conducted in 2018. About 171 regions will hold elections for the heads of provinces, regencies, and cities on 27 June 2018.